Stand by me…

While waiting for our children to get out of school yesterday I was taking a minute to catch up with some of the other Mom’s. We were laughing at ourselves and how we want to watch scary movies but usually can’t because we get too scared. We were in the middle of exchanging movie titles, which I’m sure are too scary for us to watch, when our conversation was interrupted by the school bell. Students, clearly happy that it was Friday and still under the influence of their Halloween sugar buzz, came bolting out to greet their parents.

For Logan’s 2:00 blood sugar check the health room aide and I had decided that I would check Logan right away after school. He was playing outside at the time, having fun with his friends, and did not want to stop. He asked if he could get checked in a little bit, which is not a usual request. He must have been having a lot of fun I thought to myself. I carefully considered whether or not we should skip it, thinking about his numbers throughout the day and making mental calculations. It was around 2:20 and he was to be out of school at 2:30, ten minutes, I’d be on school grounds by the time I hung up. O.k., let’s skip it. (Yes, his blood sugar can drop quickly and unexpectedly, but I was trusting my judgement and felt comfortable with my decision).

When I saw Logan come out of school I could tell that he was running low. He was sluggish and on the verge of being emotional, I could see it from a distance. I usually pull him aside and check his blood sugar a bit more discreetly, but this time I had him sit down right where he was, in the flower bedded entrance with kids and parents rushing by, excited to get on with their weekends. I wasn’t scared that he was tragically low, but I didn’t want to take the time to pull him aside.  I was also a little mad at myself for skipping the 2:00 check and needed confirmation right away that he was o.k.

While keeping an eye on Zoe, so she didn’t get swept up in the crowd, I checked Logan’s blood sugar, he was 87. His targeted range is 80-150, he was o.k. but on the low end and most likely still going lower. I gave him a small snack, just enough to get him home. Within minutes I could see that his blood sugar was going back up, he was smiling and his speech was clearer. It always amazes me how we can ‘see’ his blood sugar getting back in range.

When moments like this happen, they happen and I’m in the moment. I make sure that we are all in a safe space and focus on Logan. Tony and I have been doing this for 6 years now. It’s our life, it has become so fluid at times that I don’t expect anyone to step in or offer help, though I appreciate it when it happens.

So you can imagine that I was both startled and touched when in the midst of checking Logan I heard this calm, friendly voice say, “Denise, I’ll stay with you until you know he is o.k., just in case you need help“. I don’t even know how I responded, but I did send her an e-mail as soon as we got home, thanking her for staying with me, how thought of her.

We will always be grateful for those that ask questions, learn more and support our efforts, but in that moment the willingness to stay with me, stand by me, was more valuable to me than anything she may have known about T1D.

Kindness is so powerful, as is knowledge and the willingness to understand. When putting them all together, well, the possibilities are both exciting and endless.

One thought on “Stand by me…

  1. Kathleen Ricke

    My heart goes out to all of you. I am having trouble typing this because of the tears that keep coming. I wish, hope and pray that there will be a cure SOON for T1D. Jim and I marvel at the wonderful way you both have stood up to manage Logan’s T1D. Our hearts and prayers are with all of you. As you have said that even little Zoe is understanding Logan’s special needs.
    I wish we all lived closer to each other. All our love mom &dad Ricke.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

