“Mom, please take the diabetes out of my body”

Two summers ago we were visiting my family in Florida. We were taking a break from swimming, Logan and Zoe were coloring, watching “Phineas and Ferb”. Tony was in the office working and I was at the kitchen table.

Logan had never really talked about finding a cure, he hadn’t talked much about how diabetes made him feel. When we encouraged him to talk about how he felt, he seemed puzzled, like “what’s the big deal, I’m fine”. At the time, he somehow learned to embrace it, it was a part of his life and he took it in stride. So when out of the blue, he said “Mom, please take the diabetes out of my body”, I was left speechless and I think, for the first time since his diagnosis, I felt heartbroken.

I remember holding back the tears, trying not to move, not wanting to breathe for fear they would start to fall and never stop. I’m usually pretty steady, but this time I was caught off guard. I’m not sure how long it was before I answered him. I took a deep breath and said “There is nothing more I would like to do than to take the diabetes out of your body. I can’t take it out of your body but I can help raise money for research for a cure and I can teach people about Type 1 Diabetes”. “Oh, I hope they find a cure.” he replied, and quietly went back to coloring.

It took some time that day for me to move on from that moment. I wondered what else he was thinking about and if it was on his mind as much as it was mine. I also wondered why I had not advocated more strongly for him before this moment?

Since then I have made a promise to myself that I would become a stronger advocate to raise awareness and to continue to help raise funds for research, it’s a promise I intend to keep. The next time Logan comes to me with a question about a cure, or why there isn’t one yet, I want to be able to look him in the eye and know that I am doing everything I can to help find one, and to tell him with confidence that someday there will be one.

Thank you for being a part of our story, for sharing this time with us and for helping us raise awareness for Type 1 Diabetes, there is no way we could ever do it alone.

Did you know that-

  • Each year, more than 15,000 children and 15,000 adults – approximately 80 people per day – are diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in the U.S.2
  • The rate of type 1 diabetes incidence among children under the age of 14 is estimated to increase by 3% annually worldwide. 4         (http://www.jdrf.org/index.cfm?page_id=102585)
Leave a Reply

