Crossroads

Image0635

I have been enjoying some time to myself working on future posts and projects for 2013. Though lately I’ve been a little frustrated, well, because in the midst of my creative fury something always seems to push its way to the top of the list, shouting “No, wait! Wait! Me first!“. Leaving me scrambling.

It happened again this morning. I was at my desk, basking in the quiet while working on some hearts to be mailed out this week.* I was sitting there thinking “hearts, hearts, red hearts, white hearts, cute hearts, paper hearts” in a Dr. Seuss kind of way and then BAM! “What are you going to do with your life?“. Whoa, that’s a bit heavy. What happened to “hearts, hearts, hearts?”.

I was feeling a little perplexed about this crossroads that I seem to be at all of a sudden. It felt so abrupt. It was like being a passenger in a car and the driver suddenly stops and they swing their arm out in front of you so you don’t go flying forward. It felt like that.

Swirls of thoughts, ideas, and a few concerns, bumping into each other in my already tired mind. I plod through them trying to decide which ones need my attention first and which ones really don’t need my attention at all.

My head starts to hurt and I decide that I honestly don’t know what this sudden surge in thought is all about. Maybe it’s the angst of the year coming to an end and the excitement of a new one starting. Maybe, just maybe, I am TOTALLY freaked out that my 1/2 Marathon is only 5, yes I said 5, weeks away!! Now is not the time for me to doubt anything. Or, maybe it’s just too much coffee, sometimes when I get to over-analyzing myself I realize I’m just over-caffeinated. It’s as simple as that. But not today.

I sit there. My mind racing while ‘what iffing’ myself into a tizzy. Then I realize, although uncomfortable at the moment, I am exactly where I should be. Ta-dah! The angels sing. How profound and magical. Not to poke-fun at these moments of epiphany, but some days are like that, I struggle, I exaggerate, my mind leads me too far from my path, causing me to panic, question, doubt. Then something clicks, I let go, I trust, and magically my internal knowing catches up with my external wondering, they shake hands and make a deal. I breathe deep and move on.

I put the scissors down, push back in my chair and take a deep breath. I grab my coffee cup and laugh, well lookey there, it says, “Trust the Process”.

Wherever you are today, whatever decisions you have to make, whatever dreams you are planning to live, I hope that you too can find that moment where you let go and trust the process.

Thanks for taking the time to catch up with us today, and for letting me have a little corner of this blog to think out loud. It’s always about T1D, but today it was a little bit more, and I appreciate your listening.

Slow down. Calm down. Don’t worry. Don’t hurry. Trust the process.

~Alexandra Stoddard

*Thank you by the way, we have had 849 views on our YouTube video, that is amazing!! We could never have done this without YOU!.

And…if you are wondering, I bought this fabulous mug at Barnes & Noble, but you can also order them online from The Universe Knows, they have some great stuff, take a peek…

http://www.theuniverseknows.com/index.cfm/product/198_25/trust-the-process.cfm#.UL6dtWf4KJI

Leave a Reply

