Friends, they’re a big deal.

I have been wanting to write this post since the day it happened and here I am months later finally putting it out there. I have been thinking about all of the amazing women that I know and how grateful I am to have them in my life. They are always teaching me about who I am, who I am not and who I am yet to be.

I have realized how important they have become since Logan’s diagnosis and how some friends have drifted away and how new ones have emerged. Everyone’s timing always perfect.

If I could, I would post a photo of each and everyone of you, all of the amazing women in my life that have supported me through the good, the bad and the ugly. There is just not enough space to do that so I’m choosing a more recent photo with new friends because it reminds me of what all of my friends have in common. Compassion, love and generosity.

I was a new addition to this dynamic duo of women, they had warmly welcomed me into their already well established friendship after we moved from Wisconsin to Colorado.

Image0522On this day we were headed out for a hike and I was excited to explore new territory. As we were approaching the mountain trail I realized that the bars on my phone were disappearing and without mention, they picked up on my anxiousness and Shana quickly said, “Oh, don’t worry, we can go somewhere else, you’ll need your phone for when the school calls with Logan’s numbers“.

I hesitated, hating to change our plans. I knew that neither of them would mind, but I didn’t want to be the reason for a change our plans. Well, actually I didn’t want T1D to be the reason for it. It was just another gentle reminder that T1D is ALWAYS there and I was struggling with it a little bit, feeling restricted, and feeling selfish at the same time.

We drove back down the mountain to a different spot, both of them telling me not to worry about it, that it was no big deal, but it was a big deal. It may seem like such a small thing, but in my mind all of these small things add up and make me feel so incredibly lucky to have people like these two women in my life. We all deserve friends like this and I trust that you have them.

Often times people say, ‘Really, it’s not a big deal‘ and make changes to help out. Friends do this for each other. But you must know that it is a big deal and it doesn’t go unnoticed. We are so grateful for all of the things that you do.

For example, all of the times that people have changed a meal time so we could work around Logan’s T1D schedule. Or when his teachers figure out a way to include a treat during a time that Logan would typically have  snack so that he doesn’t have to bring his treat home or get an extra injection.  Or when people ask questions about T1D and are genuinely curious about what it is and how they can better understand it. Or the many times that my friends cut me some slack when they know I’ve had a sleepless night. Or, or, or. The list is long, but these are all the ‘little’ things that are big things in our book and there are so many.

We could never ask that you make these changes because we understand that everyone has needs and that everything always works out. Believe me, we always manage. Well I take that back. If we know you well enough, we might ask you, and if you’ve been reading my blog you already know that sometimes T1D just plain ole’ sucks. So I’m not trying to say that life is all rainbows and sunshine, what I am saying is that it is all good. Really.

And the asking for help part, ugh. I am forever telling my children to ask for help, yet I am the worst, I find it quite difficult to ask. I mean really, who doesn’t?

So, we might not ask, and we will not expect, but what we will do is to be grateful for every token of kindness that you offer. We will also be inspired to offer that kindness to someone else and make sure that we are the one’s that tell them, “Really, it’s no big deal“.

For me, among many things, T1D challenges my natural instinct to be spontaneous. My forever desire to just pick up and go, just do it, right now. I’ve gotten much better about it and have helped Logan manage his own desires to be spontaneous, it just takes a lot of planning, and it helps to be surrounded by people that will come off of the mountain for you when you need phone service.

As we celebrate Mothers Day I would also like to celebrate friends. We all believe that our friends are the best friends and they are, aren’t they? May you continue to have a friend at your side and to be that friend for someone else.

Sending out love and gratitude to all of the friends that have been a part of my life, and for those I am yet to meet. An extra shout out to my Iola friends, you know who you are, a community of women that should be honored with their own post. There is a lot of magic happening in central Wisconsin.

A special thank you to the friends in Logan’s life that have been so special to him along the way and who have always been so supportive of his T1D care. Thank you for stopping for BG checks in the middle of some serious play time, for not sharing food after your parents did everything in their power to teach you to share, and for understanding how unpredictable T1D can be, you guys are troopers. Hugs to Maddy, Lilly, Maddie, Nina and Tobin, thank you, I know that Logan misses your company.  (I am sure to have forgotten a few and I know that Logan would have more to add to this list if he were here to join in the conversation).

Leave a Reply

